Hospitals - Introduction

The provincial Public Hospitals Act and its regulations set out the framework for the operation of hospitals in Ontario.  There are more than 200 hospital sites in Ontario comprised of four different types of hospitals: public hospitals, private hospitals, federal hospitals and Cancer Care Ontario hospitals. 

These broad groups of hospitals can be further broken down and categorized into general hospitals, convalescent hospitals, hospitals for chronic patients, psychiatric hospitals, treatment hospitals for alcoholism and drug addiction and rehabilitation hospitals.  A complete list of hospitals and which groups they belong to can be found on the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care website.

Ontario residents with a health care card will have their medically necessary health care services paid for by the Ontario Health Insurance Plan (OHIP).  A resident of Ontario must have a health card to show that he or she is entitled to health care services paid for by OHIP.

More Information

For more information on this topic, click on one of the links below: